To protect public health and the environment through innovative and cost effective wastewater and solid waste management, and in doing so convert waste into resources such as recycled water, energy, and recycled materials.

Who We Are And What We Do For You

The Sanitation Districts of Los Angeles County are a confederation of 24 independent special districts that provide environmentally sound, cost-effective wastewater and solid waste management for approximately 5.6 million people in Los Angeles County. The Sanitation Districts’ service area covers approximately 800 square miles and encompasses 78 cities and unincorporated territory within the County. The Districts were formed under the authority provided by the County Sanitation District Act of 1923 (the Act), which authorized the formation of sanitation districts based on topographical boundaries that determine efficient wastewater management, rather than political boundaries. As authorized by the Act, the Districts’ role is to construct, operate, and maintain facilities to collect, treat, and dispose of wastewater and industrial wastes. Following a 1949 amendment to the Act, the Districts were empowered to provide solid waste management and disposal services including refuse transfer and resource recovery. In general, local sewers and laterals that connect to the Districts’ trunk sewers and solid waste collection are the responsibility of the local jurisdictions within the Districts’ service area. The Districts’ service area and wastewater facilities are shown in Figure 1.

Figure 1
Sanitation Districts Service Area

The 24 individual districts work cooperatively with one another under a Joint Administration Agreement (JAA) with one administrative staff headquartered near the City of Whittier. Each District has its own Board of Directors, usually consisting of the presiding officers of the governing bodies of each local jurisdiction located within that District (typically the mayor of each City and the Chair of the County Board of Supervisors for county unincorporated territory). In limited situations where there are less than three jurisdictions within a District, one of the local jurisdictions may have more than one representative on the Board of Directors in conformance with the Health and Safety Code, Section 4730. The list of the cities in each District is provided in Table 1. Each District pays its proportionate share of joint administrative costs.

Table 1
Jurisdictions Within Each District

District Jurisdictions
District No. 1 Bell, Compton, Cudahy, Huntington Park, Long Beach, Los Angeles City, Lynwood, Maywood, Paramount, South Gate, Vernon, Los Angeles County

District No. 2 Alhambra, Artesia, Bell, Bellflower, Bell Gardens, Cerritos, Commerce, Compton, Downey, Long Beach, Los Angeles City, Montebello, Monterey Park, Norwalk, Paramount, Pico Rivera, San Gabriel, South Gate, Vernon, Whittier, Los Angeles County

District No. 3 Bellflower, Cerritos, Lakewood, Long Beach, Los Angeles City, Signal Hill, Los Angeles County
District No. 4 Beverly Hills, Los Angeles City, West Hollywood
District No. 5 Culver City, El Segundo, Gardena, Hawthorne, Inglewood, Lawndale, Lomita, Los Angeles City, Manhattan Beach, Palos Verdes Estates, Rancho Palos Verdes, Redondo Beach, Rolling Hills, Rolling Hills Estates, Torrance, Los Angeles County

District No. 8 Carson, Compton, Long Beach, Los Angeles City, Los Angeles County
District No. 9 Los Angeles City, Los Angeles County
District No. 14 Lancaster, Palmdale, Los Angeles County
District No. 15 Arcadia, Baldwin Park, Bradbury, Duarte, El Monte, Industry, Irwindale, La Puente, Monrovia, Montebello, Monterey Park, Pasadena, Rosemead, San Gabriel, San Marino, Sierra Madre, South El Monte, Temple City, West Covina, Whittier, Los Angeles County
District No. 16 Alhambra, Los Angeles City, Pasadena, San Marino, South Pasadena, Los Angeles County
District No. 17 Pasadena, Los Angeles County
District No. 18 Artesia, Bellflower, Cerritos, Downey, Industry, La Habra Heights, La Mirada, Norwalk, Pico Rivera, Santa Fe Springs, Whittier, Los Angeles County
District No. 19 Artesia, Cerritos, Hawaiian Gardens, Lakewood, Long Beach, Los Angeles County
District No. 20 Palmdale, Los Angeles County
District No. 21 Claremont, Diamond Bar, Industry, La Puente, La Verne, Pomona, San Dimas, Walnut, West Covina, Los Angeles County
District No. 22 Arcadia, Azusa, Baldwin Park, Bradbury, Covina, Duarte, Glendora, Irwindale, La Verne, Monrovia, San Dimas, Walnut, West Covina, Los Angeles County
District No. 23 Vernon
District No. 27 Los Angeles County
District No. 28 La Cañada Flintridge
District No. 29 Signal Hill
District No. 34 La Cañada Flintridge
Newhall Ranch Los Angeles County
Santa Clarita Valley Santa Clarita, Los Angeles County
South Bay Cities El Segundo, Hermosa Beach, Manhattan Beach, Palos Verdes Estates, Rancho Palos Verdes, Redondo Beach, Rolling Hills Estates, Torrance

Collectively, the Districts own, operate, and maintain 1,400 miles of main trunk sewers and 11 wastewater treatment plants, which manage approximately 415 million gallons per day (mgd). Of this total, approximately 37% (154 mgd) is treated to a level that is suitable for reuse in the dry Southern California climate. This wastewater system is divided into three major categories (as discussed below): the Joint Outfall System, outlying Districts (consisting of the Antelope and Santa Clarita Valleys), and Districts that contract with the City of Los Angeles. The level of treatment, capacity, and current flows being treated at each of the wastewater treatment facilities is shown in Table 2. The Districts also operate two active landfills, four landfill energy recovery facilities, one recycle center, a transfer station, and two materials recovery facilities; maintain four closed landfills; participate in the operation of two refuse-to-energy facilities; and have developed one remote landfill site.

Table 2
Level of Treatment, Capacity, Flow

Facility Level of Treatment Capacity Current Flow
JWPCP Secondary



San Jose Creek WRP Tertiary



Los Coyotes WRP Tertiary



Long Beach WRP Tertiary



Whittier Narrows WRP Tertiary



Pomona WRP Tertiary



La Cañada WRP Secondary



Lancaster WRP Tertiary



Palmdale WRP Tertiary



Saugus WRP Tertiary



Valencia Tertiary






Joint Outfall System

Santa Clarita Valley

Antelope Valley

Contract Districts

Home  |  Who We Are & What We Can Do For You  |  Revenue Program & Rates
Low-water Rebate Program  |  Parcel Data  |  Financial Documents  |  Cost-Saving Measures
Significant Projects  |  Contact Us
Call us toll free at
(855) 240-9506
Email us at
Return to our main page