Engineering Department

Samuel Espinoza                                Michael Tatalovich                    
Department Head                                  Assistant Department Head        
(562) 908-4288, Extension 2101             Extension 1601
sespinoza@lacsd.org                             mtatalovich@lacsd.org           

Lilian Burgess
Administrative Secretary
Extension 1706


Fax: (562) 699-4515  

The Engineering Department is responsible for:

•   Design and construction of Sanitation Districts’ facilities 
•   
Advertise and award construction contracts 
•   Outreach Program for construction contracts 
•   Issue bid documents for construction contracts 
•  
Sewer Plan check 
•   Provide drawings of Sanitation Districts’ facilities 
•  
Issue permits for connection to Sanitation Districts’ wastewater collection system



COMMONLY CALLED NUMBERS

Public Counter
- Engineering
Christine Gurga, Public Counter Coordinator
(562) 908-4288, Extension 1205
Fax:  (562) 908-4251

Contractor Claims and Outreach Program
Monica Gamez, Contract Claims Coordinator
(562) 908-4288, Extension 1600

ENGINEERING SECTIONS

Electrical & Instrumentation Design
Matt Palma, Division Engineer
(562) 908-4288, Extension 2200
mpalma@lacsd.org

Field Engineering
Vacant, Division Engineer
(562) 908-4288, Extension 5812

Sewer Design
Anthony Howard, Division Engineer
(562) 908-4288, Extension 1602
ahoward@lacsd.org  

Structural & Architectural Design
Mark Vanderzee, Division Engineer
(562) 908-4288, Extension 2000
mvanderzee@lacsd.org

Wastewater & Solid Waste Design
Derek Zondervan, Division Engineer
(562) 908-4288, Extension 2105
dzondervan@lacsd.org